LEAVE ALBERT ALONE…THANK YOU!

Ok, people of St. Louis! SERIOUSLY! SHUT UP ABOUT ALBERT! All of this constant derogatory bashing about him is really getting old. Even though I can appreciate a good joke (If I see one), but the man did what he was supposed to do. The Cardinals’ front office where doing what they were going to do. Which is…NOT PAY HIM! So don’t get upset at him when he was supposed to get a well-deserved paycheck from the team that he helped in 11 seasons get to 3 World Series and earn 2 championships. Funny though, I haven’t heard the same damn mess about Jack Clark, Mark McGwire, Will Clark (in his brief time), and other superstars that have left the Cardinals to go to other teams. Give “the mang” his respect! Some of the media IN OUR AREA is dogging the crapola out of him…FOR WHAT? What did he do to you, except leave.

I have learned in sports that loyalty from athletes is pretty much dead. You will hardly ever see an athlete for a particular team play with the same team for their entire career. Steven Jackson of the St. Louis Rams is a good example…but even I don’t believe he’ll be around next season. Athletes are trying to better themselves just like you and I. Yep, we are the ones that pay their contracts. If that’s the case, we wouldn’t go to the sporting events or wouldn’t watch the games. But guess what, we do. We’re stuck and have to get over that.

Albert performed very well here in St. Louis. Granted to you hardcore baseball fans that love the little things, Albert didn’t do those things as good as you hoped. Believe it or not, those fans knew what they were getting when he made the team back in 2001. He was a decent base runner, terrible outfielder, and (in my opinion) crapola 3rd baseman. Played 1st base and became a much better fielder. Now, you can’t sit here and tell me his offensive numbers weren’t amazing. Tell me the last time a man of his caliber hit .300, 30 HR, and 100 RBIs in 10 consecutive seasons. I’LL WAIT. Remind you, he did this for the Cardinals. Not the Yankees. Not the Red Sox. Not even the Cubs. Something that not even, as the old-timers and most fans love the most, Stan “The Man” Musial ever did. He did this for the “best fans in baseball.”

My point is, just respect the guy. Whatever he did outside of the game is his business. If he treated you indifferently then that was on you, innocent or not. I never got a chance to meet him, sorry, I wasn’t blessed with opportunities. That’s life, I got over it. So can you, the irate Cardinal fan. Yeah you can stick it to him that he’s not in the postseason or he had an off year, but trust and believe, he’ll be back and until then I’ll cheer for the man. Because he is still a great player and I enjoyed his time here. I can’t wait till the day he returns to STL…whether you boo or cheer, I’ll stand up and applaud (in my opinion) the BEST CARDINAL EVER. I SAID IT! Cards management…YOU RUINED IT!

This special A-Train Rant is sponsored by…

THE ANGRY REDBIRD!

2 Responses to “LEAVE ALBERT ALONE…THANK YOU!”

  1. On point. Let it go! We showed the world we moved on. Not let’s show how classy we are!

  2. Exactly. Thanks for feeling the same way.

Leave a Reply

